Get Adobe Flash player

Prescription Drug Drop-Off Program

The Dakota County Sheriff, Attorney, and Environmental Management Offices, along with our law enforcement partners, have teamed together to offer the public a place to safely and anonymously dispose of prescription drugs.    

Drop boxes have been placed in the following locations:  

View Prescription Drug Drop Off Locations in a larger map



Apple Valley Police Department (952) 953-2700 Mon - Fri 8am to 4:30pm
Burnsville Police Department (952) 895-4600 24hrs a day 7 days a week
Eagan Police Department (651) 675-5700 Mon - Fri 8am to 6:00pm
Farmington Police Department (651) 280-6700 Mon - Fri 8am to 4:30pm
Inver Grove Heights Police Department (651) 450-2525 24hrs a day 7 days a week
Lakeville Police Department (952) 985-2800 Mon - Fri 8am to 4:30pm
Mendota Heights Police Department (651) 452-1366 24hrs a day 7 days a week
Rosemount Police Department (651) 423-4491 24hrs a day 7 days a week
Sheriff's Office (Hastings) (651) 438-4710 24hrs a day 7 days a week
South St Paul Police Department (651) 552-4200 24hrs a day 7 days a week
West St. Paul Police Department (651) 552-4200 24hrs a day 7 days a week

How to Drop Off Your Medicine:

  • Drop-off is safe and anonymous.  No ID is required and no questions will be asked.  
  • Keep medicines in their original container and place them in a sealed, clear plastic bag (pills can remain in their blister packs). 
  • Use a marker to cross out your name on the medicine containers. 
  • Place medicine that is no longer in its original container in a clear plastic bag and write the name of the medicine on the bag.  
Medicines Accepted from Households: 
  • Medicines from households are accepted in any form, including prescription, over-the-counter, and pet medications. 
  • No medicines from businesses, including health care facilities, long-term care facilities, pharmacies, doctors’ offices, and veterinary clinics can be accepted.  
List of What is Not Accepted:          
  • Needles;         
  • Sharps; or         
  • Fever thermometers.  

The above items can be brought The Recycling Zone, 3365 Dodd Road, Eagan, Phone 651-905-4520, for free, environmentally safe disposal.   

For questions after 4:30 p.m. and on weekends, please call the Dakota Communications Center at (651) or (952) 322-2323.

Click here for a list of frequently asked questions!

Access to Dakota County prevention materials about this issue are available by clicking here, or a prevention kit can be obtained by contacting Monica Jensen of the Dakota County Attorney’s Office at 651-438-4440.  More prescription drug resources are available at   




Terms of Use - Privacy Statement

Dakota County Sheriff's Office © 2014