Get Adobe Flash player

Firearms Law/Gun Permit Regulations

  • The state law went into effect May 28, 2003
  • Applications for Permits to Purchase firearms will still be processed by the local police agency that patrols your area 
  • Applications for Permits to Carry a Firearm and renewals will be processed by the Sheriff's Office
  • Applications for Permits to Carry and renewals will only be accepted between the hours of 8:00 to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.
  • Fees for Permit to Carry applications and renewals must be in the form of cash or checks.  No credit, debit, or bank cards will be accepted.
  • The Permit to Carry application fee in Dakota County will be $75
  • Fee for permit renewal is: $75
    Renewal applications will not be accepted more than 90 days before the expiration date
  • The initial permit will be valid for five years
  • Applicants must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
  • Applicants (both new and renewal) must complete the training, state application, pay the fee, submit the form in person, and pass the background/criminal history check requirements
  • Applicants (both new and renewal) must provide proof of completion of the Minnesota Personal Protection Act Class from a BCA certified instructor that includes fundamentals of pistol use, actual shooting qualification exercise, and instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use including self-defense and the restrictions on use of deadly force.  This training must have been completed within 12 months prior to the date of application.
  • Permits issued in Minnesota are valid throughout Minnesota
Click here for Bureau of Criminal Apprehension MN State Statute, frequently asked questions, and other gun permit related information.

Attachments

 

 

 
 
 

 

 

Terms of Use - Privacy Statement

Dakota County Sheriff's Office © 2014